Leadership & Governing Board

President’s Message

Young people making the transition from grade school to high school are just beginning to wrestle with a pretty big question: What am I going to do with my life? In one sense that question is already answered for the young child of God. Their life’s purpose is to serve Jesus in joyful appreciation for all he’s done for them. In another sense, however, the question can be asked: How will I serve Jesus in my life?

Michigan Lutheran Seminary exists to prepare young people to train for the public ministry of the WELS at Martin Luther College in New Ulm, MN. We recognize, however, that a young person may not know as a freshman whether they have the gifts or desire for that ministry. We invite young people to come and give it a try. The courses they take here will also prepare them well for a lifetime of Christian service and equip them to attend any college they might choose.

The high school years are an exciting time in the life of a young person. They are also a time of life-directing decisions. Through God’s Word and the Christian advice of friends and professors MLS strives to help all our students to make those decisions and find the best path for them to serve Jesus in their life.

In Christ,

Rev. Joel V. Petermann, 
President Michigan Lutheran Seminary

Governing Board Members

Greg Gibbons (Pastor)
Chairman

revgdgibb@outlook.com

Philip Paustin (Pastor)
Vice-Chairman

phil@paustian.org

Keith Kriewall (Lay Member) 
Secretary
keith.kriewall@gmail.com

Andrew Retberg (Pastor)
aretberg@gslcthewoodlands.org

Mark Eubank (Lay Member)
markeubank@ureach.com
David Bauer (Teacher)
bauerdt@mlc-wels.edu
Brent Diehm (Lay Member)
Brentd6808@gmail.com
Steve Schultz (Teacher)
principal@bethanykenosha.org

Advisory Board Members

Pastor Mark Schroeder,
WELS President
mark.schroeder@wels.net
Pastor Paul Prange, 
BME Chairman
paul.prange@wels.net
Pastor John Seifert,
MI District President
pastorjohnseifert@gmail.com
Pastor Joel Petermann, 
MLS President 
president@mlsem.org